top of page

World Pangolin Day

Updated: Dec 12, 2019

What is a Pangolin?

Pangolins are scaled mammals. There are eight species of pangolin and they live in different areas of the world. From Asia, China, India, Africa and places in between. They inhabit rainforests, tundra, and savannahs alike. They are given the nickname scaled anteaters because of how the look as well as what they like to eat. They can roll up into a ball and their scales provide protection from predators.

Due to common belief that the meat and scales of the pangolin hold medicinal properties, this animal is highly trafficked throughout the world today. They are dwindling and some of the species of pangolin is listed as endangered species. It is illegal to capture, transport, and kill these animals for this reason. Unfortunately, it is still being done. Their scales, meat, and babies sale for high prices in markets which drives the capture of these creatures higher and higher. Pictured below is how they are transported with no to little room to move before being killed.

Today is a day for us to raise awareness of this problem. No animal deserves to be treated like this and needs us to speak up for them. There is no scientific proof of the medicinal qualities that are claimed to come from these animals. The drive for scales and meat is what keeps these animals circulating around the black market and it needs to be stopped. It all starts with us as we make steps to protect these animals. Please stand with us and lend a hand in this plight for these loving creatures.

Sources and for more information:

Looking to help us abroad?

Veterinary students volunteering with wildlife zebra in Africa
bottom of page